Inside MYP

At Hiram Bingham, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) is offered to students in Grade 6 to Grade 9, and it is part of the Senior school section.

Our school has been certified by the International Baccalaureate Organization (IB) to offer the MYP since 2002. This programme emphasises intellectual challenge and aims to develop students who are internationally-minded and active learners.

MYP students explore a wide range of concepts in different disciplines and academic contexts, through varied learning experiences organised in units of inquiry, with the aim of developing their communication skills, thinking skills, self-management, research, and social skills. All of these, together with their general development of abilities, will promote student progress in relation to the Hiram Bingham Learner Profile, which is based on the IB Learner Profile.

The MYP continues the learning experience that students bring from the PYP (Primary Years Programme) and provides a solid foundation for the rigorous curriculum which will follow for the Diploma Programme.

Ms. Jaruko Yamamoto IB MYP Coordinator

MYP Curriculum Framework

In the MYP curriculum framework, students take a central role in the learning process, developing both disciplinary and interdisciplinary understanding throughout the programme. This development is supported by «Approaches to Learning», which foster skill acquisition, and «Approaches to Teaching», emphasizing the pedagogy of the MYP, including collaborative learning through inquiry.

MYP students utilize concepts as tools to explore issues and ideas of personal, local, and global significance, approaching knowledge in a holistic manner. The use of global contexts enables students to comprehend the conditions that unite them as human beings and the shared responsibility to care for the planet. These contexts are explored through six dimensions:

  • Identities and relationships
  • Orientations in space and time
  • Personal and cultural expression
  • Scientific and technical innovation
  • Globalization and sustainability
  • Fairness and development

The MYP organizes the teaching and learning process through eight subject groups:

  1. Language and Literature (Spanish and English)
  2. Language Acquisition (French)
  3. Individuals and Societies (Humanities)
  4. Sciences (Integrated in grade 6, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics from grade 7 to grade 9)
  5. Mathematics
  6. Arts (Creative Arts, Music, and Drama)
  7. Physical and Health Education
  8. Design

The distinction between subject groups fades to reflect the interdisciplinary nature of the MYP, connecting these groups through global contexts and key concepts. Additionally, at Hiram Bingham, within the curriculum, the promotion of taking action through service is emphasized from the subjects; in some cases, these initiatives are also linked to HB Service projects.